Marrowforums

Marrowforums (http://forums.marrowforums.org/index.php)
-   MDS (http://forums.marrowforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   White stringy jelly-like gunk in my mouth (http://forums.marrowforums.org/showthread.php?t=5845)

AliceKay1 Tue Oct 17, 2017 01:42 AM

White stringy jelly-like gunk in my mouth

I'm not sure this has anything to do with my MDS.

Has anybody experienced white stringy jelly-like gunk in their mouth? I have thrush on my tongue from QVar (a steroid for COPD), and I'm using MW: DIPHEN-LIDO-MAALX-NY SUS for that. I wonder if that's causing the white gunk. Or is it my toothpaste? I read on another forum that Crest Pro might cause that.

lisa3112 Wed Oct 18, 2017 08:06 AM

Hi, isnt the white gunk related to the thrush? I'm a nurse and I see patients with stringy white saliva when they have thrush. Nystatin (not sure of spelling) drops are what we use in aus. But if you're unsure go to dr, or send them a pic maybe. Hope it clears up, lisa.

AliceKay1 Thu Oct 19, 2017 01:31 PM

No Qvar

Quote:

Originally Posted by lisa3112 (Post 43249)
Hi, isnt the white gunk related to the thrush? I'm a nurse and I see patients with stringy white saliva when they have thrush. Nystatin (not sure of spelling) drops are what we use in aus. But if you're unsure go to dr, or send them a pic maybe. Hope it clears up, lisa.

Thank you, Lisa. I have sent a picture in an email to the doctor who prescribed the mouth wash for the thrush. He didn't buy that it had anything to do with that. However, since then I've read that Qvar, a medication for COPD, can cause this white gunk AND that Qvar can lower one's immunity! I'm experimenting with no Qvar for a few days.

AliceKay1 Fri Oct 27, 2017 02:06 PM

Thrush and mouthwash

Quote:

Originally Posted by AliceKay1 (Post 43258)