Marrowforums

Marrowforums (http://forums.marrowforums.org/index.php)
-   Bone Marrow Failure (http://forums.marrowforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Stem cell production and Stemgevity (http://forums.marrowforums.org/showthread.php?t=4243)

BigMick Wed May 28, 2014 09:55 PM

Stem cell production and Stemgevity

I have been reading about a product called Stemgevity which is claimed to increase stem cell production from the bone marrow. Just curious to know if any others have had any experience with this product

Neil Cuadra Thu May 29, 2014 12:56 AM

I haven't seen any independent medical review of this product. It's heavily publicized and promoted by those who sell it, which tell us basically nothing.

The doctor behind Stemgevity got a bad review here, while his rebuttal is here.

Chirley Thu May 29, 2014 01:58 AM

Hi Neil, I'm not familiar with DO after a doctors name. Can you tell me, is it a medical doctor?

Thanks.

Marlene Thu May 29, 2014 09:02 AM

I've no experience with it but it's pretty expensive for a supplement. The only ingredient I'm not familiar with is the deer antler which is used a lot in chinese medicine. It's an herb that supports tissue regeneration.
Here's some info on deer antler:
http://www.dragonherbs.com/prodinfo.asp?number=006

All the ingredients are pretty common vitamins or minerals or herbs. So I can see how this supplement can be helpful for some.

Neil Cuadra Thu May 29, 2014 11:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chirley (Post 33939)
Hi Neil, I'm not familiar with DO after a doctors name. Can you tell me, is it a medical doctor?

Thanks.

D.O. means Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine, which is an advanced degree in a medical speciality.

sbk007 Thu May 29, 2014 12:43 PM

M.D. vs D.O.