Marrowforums

Marrowforums (http://forums.marrowforums.org/index.php)
-   AA (http://forums.marrowforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   High liver enzymes (http://forums.marrowforums.org/showthread.php?t=2622)

mnsnyl Tue Jan 3, 2012 06:40 AM

High liver enzymes

Hello dear AA family, I have been using 200mg sandimmune for 17 months and my counts are still improving. But the day before I had severe tummy pain and went to a gastroenterolog, she made some tests. My liver enzymes were sooooo high;

ALT 216 (0-33)
AST 294 (0-31)
GGT 79 (0-31)
total bilirubin 3.42 (0-2,1)
direk biluribin 1.73 (0-0.3)

the doc said " while trying to recover your marrow, don't lose your liver." and cyclosporine was cut off now. I am so worried about this sudden cut off. What if my blood levels falls again? If I continue taking cyclosporin what happens to my liver? By the way a 40*48mm overian cyst was found in my rigth over. Also because of the tummy pain, my doc suspected if it can be ulcer or gastritist, I am waiting their test results. I am just 22 years old and I really don't know how to overcome with all these:(

Marlene Tue Jan 3, 2012 09:11 AM

Did your Hematologist take you off the Sandimmune? So many things can cause liver enzymes to be elevated so I if you haven't already, call your hematologist so they can work with you on all of this. I assume your doc was running a chem panel each month so find out what your prior labs were. Were the liver enzymes trending up or was this a sudden spike.

A blocked bile duct can cause both pain and liver enzyme problems. So make sure they checked out your gall bladder and pancreas ( they share the duct going into the digestive track and if they get blocked, cause pain and bile to back up)