Marrowforums

Marrowforums (http://forums.marrowforums.org/index.php)
-   General Health Issues (http://forums.marrowforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   night sweats and insonmnia (http://forums.marrowforums.org/showthread.php?t=228)

Anne G Tue Jul 3, 2007 12:32 AM

night sweats and insonmnia

Hi, I am currently a newbie to the website(thank goodness it is here)! I have had RCMD for more than two years. Recently I am finding it rather difficult to sleep and difficult to deal with the night sweats. I am currently having Reiki and Reflexology as complementary therapies. Any Suggestions to overcome this it would be great. At the moment I am having roughly 4 1/2 to 5 hours broken sleep per night and the only the time I have block sleeping for more than 2 hours is when I am totally exhausted. I am a full time business manager, full time single mum(my son is 15yrs old) who lives with elderly mother. Of which I am her full time carer, albeit my mum does not actively need 24hr care as yet. I have also tried Herbal Kalms and the effect is not that great. Sleeping pills not the answer either, as I have an hour drive to work and back each day.

Anne G Wed Aug 1, 2007 07:11 PM

useful info

I have just been prescribed ranitadine for night and day sweats. will update the site and advise if this has been successful, as it may be of use to someone else

Anne g
;)

Ruth Cuadra Wed Aug 1, 2007 08:35 PM

Hi, Anne.

I'm very curious to know if the ranitadine (aka Zantac) helps with your sleep problems since it's primarily used to reduce stomach acid/hearburn. Do you suffer from those symptoms too? I've struggled with sleeping problems ever since my days on predisone. It seems like many of the drugs we take have insomnia as a side effect. Even after I was off most medications it seems that the insomnia never really went away. I've taken Ambien for a long time and it works well, but I'd love to get rid of it. If Zantac helps you, I'll talk to my doctor about trying it.

Regards,