Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Community > Tell Your Story
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Tell Your Story Say hello or share your experiences

Old Sat Oct 29, 2011, 07:43 PM

Question BP Oil Spill: Possible cause of AA & PNH??!!

Hello Everyone!

I'm a Newbie & my Wonderful & Very Brave Husband Chris was diagonised July 2011 w/Moderate AA & PNH. Because my Husband has Always been a "Health Nut" his entire life & has never been exposed to any known toxins that can cause these horrible disease(s), we cannnot help but wonder the timing of the BP Oil Spill Disaster & The Dangerous Dispersants used during the ongoing spill & the aftermath (By air & water). We live ON the Gulf Coast & we were both actually swimming in The Gulf of Mexico when the very first sightings of tar balls came ashore. The timing of his downward spriral of health to the final diagnosis just seems "To Fit" EXACTLY! His blood counts were otherwise normal before (from routine physicals & etc....). Does anyone from the Gulf Coast have a new diagnosis of AA, PNH or other Bone Marrow Failure diseases since the BP Oil Spill?

No, I am not an atty. Just a conerned wife that wants answers!

Peace, Love & Health to ALL!!
Old Sun Oct 30, 2011, 12:19 AM

Sorry, I can't help you. From what I understand most cases of AA are idiopathic, but I did want to respond to forward the link for the AA conference online webinar where they discuss people who get AA and why.

http://live.blueskybroadcast.com/bsb...PIC-WHATWEKNOW

36 yr. old, dx SAA in Jan 1996, treated with ATG in Mar. 1996, off cyclosporine Sept. 1996, last blood transfusion in Aug. 1997, slow decline in counts again November 2010, AA and current count decline thought to be caused by lupus, currently taking 400mg Plaquinil
Old Sun Oct 30, 2011, 12:42 AM

Talking

Hi Angie,

Thanks so much for your reply & advice! It really helps when you feel that you are not alone! It means soooo much!