Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Bone Marrow Failure Diseases > AA
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

AA Aplastic anemia

Old Fri Mar 9, 2012, 09:36 PM

Bare with me ~ Insight on AA

I am new to this disease. So new that I just learned about it's existence today!

One of the Mom's in my 7 year old son's class was diagnosed yesterday with Aplastic Anemia. Our sons have become pretty good friends and our families have become close in the past year. Because my 9 year old daughter has Leukemia (in remission since 2009), when my friend started feeling tired and sick and was telling me of her symptoms, I knew right away that she was having an issue with her blood. She's been in and out of the hospital for 3 weeks now. They FINALLY did the bone marrow aspiration a few days ago and diagnosed her with aplastic anemia yesterday. They said that her body is producing only 10% of her bone marrow right now. What is your opinion about the protocal with these circumstances? I've read things about chemotherapy, radiation and bone marrow transplants...they told her she'd need a bone marrow transplant, but they are going to try a few drugs. Are there drugs that can help your body PRODUCEe bone marrow? I was just hoping as a newbie to this that maybe I could get some information here?

Many thanks!
Old Fri Mar 9, 2012, 11:50 PM

Treatment will depend on whether she has been diagnosed as moderate, severe or very severe AA. This is based on both marrow cellularity and blood counts, not just one or the other. If it is moderate (MAA), the usual approach is just watch and wait.