Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Bone Marrow Failure Diseases > MDS
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

MDS Myelodysplastic syndromes

Old Tue Dec 21, 2010, 05:37 PM

MDS to AML

It looks as though my mothers MDS has progressed to AML. She is going in to the doctor tomorrow for another bone marrow biopsy, but her WBC count is at 15.7 and her peripheral blasts are at 19%.

Is there any hope at all once it progresses to AML or is this it? I am sick to death over this. What a Christmas present.
Dacogen started 01/10 - no response
Bone Marrow Biopsy 10/10 - 13% blasts
Bone Marrow Biopsy 12/22/10 - 45% blasts - AML
I have an angel 1/4/11
Old Tue Dec 21, 2010, 08:02 PM

why are they putting her thru another bmb? seems like the numbers already show it. poor thing! I will keep her in my prayers hon. I don't mean to sound mean. sometimes I just don't understand the medical personel.
Old Tue Dec 21, 2010, 08:27 PM

Suzanne,

I'm no AML expert, but I hate to see you hanging out there, worrying about your Mom, so I'm jumping in here to share the tiny bit of info I do have.

They are probably doing another BMB on your Mom just to make sure they know what kind of AML she has. That will impact the treatment options. And there are treatment options, mostly induction chemotherapy, generally inpatient, for a number of weeks, followed by more drugs or radiation and more weeks in the hospital. But patients your Mom's age can achieve remission.

You can download a PDF of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society's booklet on AML here: http://www.leukemia-lymphoma.org/att...1279291672.pdf

Reading that would be a good place to start, so that you can figure out what the docs are telling you about your Mom's diagnosis and treatment options. If you've already read that, I apologize.