Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Bone Marrow Failure Diseases > MDS
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

MDS Myelodysplastic syndromes

Old Sat Sep 6, 2014, 05:59 PM

35 and MDS

Hello all, I have been following this forum for a few months and have drawn great strength from reading your stories. In November of 2013 I passed out while driving.... One of three episodes of losing time within a few weeks. I am a nurse anesthetist and this was the final straw that led me to realize this was an issue. I could not risk having a patient under anesthesia and have this happen. Luckily I was not hurt but was run through a battery of test all of which were neurologically and cardiac centered. During this time I was advised to take a medical leave. My heart showed some fast rhythyms that were short lived and my brain scan was abnormal.... Well the cervical spine portion. They called me and asked me to get and MRI with and without contrast of my cervical spine. I assumed I had cervical stenosis and that was why I had some tingling in a few fingers every now and again. After the MRI I got a copy and took it to a Radiologist I knew to glance at it. I was told I needed to see a hematologist/oncologist. I either had mutilple myeloma, lymphoma, leukemia, or some hematological issue. When I called the neurologist I was informed he would be out of town and address the issue in two weeks.... This was Christmas break. This was not good enough for me. I needed answers I had to get back to work..... Surgery doesn't just stop. I had a friend order the appropriate tests that ruled out multiple myeloma and lymphoma and had an appointment set up with hem/onc..... Two months later... Again this wouldn't work. I wasn't allowed to work until cleared. I called in another favor and had an apt in a week, and a BMB the next week..... Low risk MDS. No chromosomal abnormalities, just myeloid dymaturation, non specific myeloid dyaplasia and non specific erythroid changes. At