Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Bone Marrow Failure Diseases > MDS
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

MDS Myelodysplastic syndromes

Old Fri Jan 25, 2013, 04:00 PM

Question What to expect with secondary MDS?

I'm new to this and haven't even been diagnosed with MDS, but my blood cts have been low for a couple of years, and continue to gradually go down. My cts are not low enough for a BMB, so the drs are in the wait and see mode. Over all my health is good, except for bruising easily, being exhausted the next day if I exercise and get out for activities, low energy, I'm freezing all the time, and have sinus infections most of the time. I've had to cut back on activities to actually save up for an exercise class I teach. So I'm trying to educate myself to stay as healthy as I can. I am a 5year breast cancer survivor and hope that's all! I'm curious about how MDS could make me feel if infact it goes that way for me. I have researched MDS and would like to know from actual secondary MDS survivors on what to look for. Please respond!

K Dance
50 years old, 4 children, and in wait & see mode!
Old Fri Jan 25, 2013, 06:15 PM
Owner

K Dance,

Let's hope your low counts are from a problem other than nonfunctioning bone marrow. What people with MDS feel is the effects of their low blood counts, with the symptoms of anemia being the most obvious. See Symptoms of MDS for a list. The symptoms you describe match those you might expect from low counts, but they don't indicate the cause.
Old Fri Jan 25, 2013, 11:12 PM

Those symptoms sound familar. When my husband was dx it was because most of those took us to the Dr. His counts as of last week
Hgb 6.4
Plts14
He had a bmb at higher counts in November and will be having his second one this Monday (bc we are seeing a new Dr, otherwise I doubt they would do them that close)