Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Bone Marrow Failure Diseases > MDS
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

MDS Myelodysplastic syndromes

Old Wed Jul 15, 2009, 04:10 PM

Red face MDS 5Q- Enlarged Spleen

Hi Everyone! I was diagnosed in June 2009 with MDS 5 Q-. I am 37 yr old female. Doctor told me I was at the Interm. 1 stage. I had an ultrasound end of April and spleen was only slightly enlarged, today I had a repeat ultrasound and my numbers are larger. Does anyone else have enlarged spleen and if so are you experiencing any pain. I have been having pain on my left upper abdomen side for a week now. I'm new to all this and just researching as much as possible. I haven't heard from my doctor yet, the hospital just faxed me a copy of results @ my request. Just scared as to what can be lying ahead for me!
Old Wed Jul 15, 2009, 05:23 PM
Owner

There are a few discussion threads here at Marrowforums about spleen issues for MDS patients, including some that mention pain, discomfort, or a feeling of having a full stomach. You are welcome to search for "spleen" or "splenectomy" and read what others have said.

Upper-left-side abdominal pain can be a sign of a number of conditions, including an enlarged spleen. Since your test results indicate an increased spleen size, that's clearly something for you and your doctor to discuss. The AA&MDSIF mentions spleen removal here and says it is sometimes necessary when the spleen is larger than 20 to 25 cm, so you could check if your lab results include a comparable measurement. If you end up needing a splenectomy, ask about having it done laproscopically, since that is less invasive than traditional surgery and can require a recovery period of only a couple of days.

The underlying problem, of course, is your MDS. Since you have an IPSS classification of MDS Intermediate 1 and the 5q- abnormality, has your doctor recommended treatment with Revlimid (lenalidomide)?
Old Fri Jul 17, 2009, 04:41 PM