Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Bone Marrow Failure Diseases > Bone Marrow Failure
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Bone Marrow Failure Causes, treatment approaches, terminology, related diseases

Old Sat Apr 10, 2010, 04:40 PM

Vidaza and my MDS/AML Treatment Mystery

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time time posting on the site. Our story takes a different turn and still is. My Dad is 78 and was diagnosed in Kuwait initially with AML, RAEB, complex cytogenetics but there was a debate on the number of blast cells counts which placed him at the border of the WHO classifications MDS/AML and due to his age and poor performance status he was not given the best options and there were not any cases treated with Vidaza or Dacogen the drugs were available be procured but the application is non existent. We flew dad to Boston at MGH cancer center, the journey itself was a struggle and dad arrived in Boston a very sick man. We checked in at the hospital and with the prior reports from Kuwait and London, a full check up was initiated and of course a Bone marrow biopsy which revealed MDS, RAEB-2, complex cytogenetics and blasts at 11-15% which solved the mystrey of diagnosis. We opted to start treatment with Vidaza (75 MG given by IV Five Days every 28 days ) in Boston as a result of the survival data are more available than Dacogen. After the second cycle of Vidaza, we went for a Bone Aspiration and biopsy and this was around October of 2009 and it revealed a blast count of 27% and therefore a transformation of AML was confirmed. We opted to stay in Boston and continue treatment with Vidaza and supportive care (red blood cells and platelets)and after the Third cycles the counts started reaching incredible heights and after the fourth cycle a clinical response and transfusion independence was gained. His CBC in August of 2009 was HGB of 8.1, WBC of 2.8 and PLT of 13 and after 4 cycles of Vidaza his HGB was at 11.9, WBC of 6.2 and PLT of 106