Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Bone Marrow Failure Diseases > MDS
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

MDS Myelodysplastic syndromes

Old Fri Feb 7, 2014, 05:58 PM

Bone Marrow Biopsy - The drill it is.

I realize I am new at this. I have only had three BMBs. Without a doubt the winner is the "drill". I felt zero pain through the whole process. I was given some Fentanyl which worked great. Last time I had morphine which I couldn't feel at all. The best part about the three different BMBs is that they didn't come close to anything (pain) that I previously anticipated.
Old Fri Feb 7, 2014, 07:22 PM

My 1st BMB was a true 10/10 pain, never really felt such a sharp pain... The doctor used a freeze spray on my skin and bone... The one thing I will give him is, was that it was quick, like 45 seconds from start to finish...

My 2nd was with the same doctor, and was only 9/10, even though he missed and had to re do it... He said "I forgot how thick you bone is", but it was still quick...

My current doctor uses lidocaine, and it is much better, but was still painful, 7/10 for my 3rd BMB/BMA...

I think I am getting used to them, because each time it gets better, 5/10 and 3/10 pain the last two times they were done (last one a week ago today)...

I've never been sedated, only locals... It's all part of the process, and in an effort to keep costs down... But using a local also helps to prevent any possible sedation risks...
Married, father of three daughters; now 46; diagnosed w/ Major form MDS 6/18/2013; had low counts across the board; Multiple chromosome abnormalities; Finished 2nd round Dacogen 9/13; SCT - Oct. 31, 2013; Sibling match 10/10 ; 5.5% blasts down to 3%, now 1% (post BMT)
Old Fri Feb 7, 2014, 09:42 PM