Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Bone Marrow Failure Diseases > AA
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

AA Aplastic anemia

Old Sun Sep 30, 2012, 08:47 AM

child custody and AA

(question removed by poster)

Last edited by hannah6860 : Thu Mar 21, 2013 at 05:50 PM.
Old Sun Sep 30, 2012, 12:26 PM

Hannah;
Each state has it's own version of a CYS - Children and Youth Services. For starters, I suggest you check with them, and see what their regulations say. Then, I would talk to your sister's primary Dr.'s and have them write a letter stating that her condition in no way warrants loss of custody - if that is appropriate in her current condition. Of course, an attorney who specializes in child custody cases should also be consulted, and have all of your 'ducks in a row' so to speak before her husband has any chance to blur the issue. I am no legal expert for sure - but with them living with you, and you providing a safe environment - I think a lot is in her favor. I wish you much luck.

Beth
Old Sun Sep 30, 2012, 03:38 PM
Owner

hannah6860,

I'm not sure how things work in the U.K. but I think you would be wise to have evidence that her daughter has the day-to-day care and support she needs. Being sick doesn't automatically make you incapable of parenting, but if that's going to be the accusation then she may need to show that she (perhaps with the help of others like you) is fully providing for her daughter, as Beth says.
Old Sun Sep 30, 2012, 06:05 PM