Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Community > Tell Your Story
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Tell Your Story Say hello or share your experiences

Old Sat Mar 13, 2010, 11:46 AM

Red face MDS and my bone marrow transplant

I've been through the Vidaza chemo treatment and although it helped stabilized me, it wasn't improving my condition. I am now in the hospital starting the bone marrow transplant protocol. I have a web site that journals my experiences and I welcome you to look at it and also share your journey. My blog is http://dancinintherain.org.
Old Sat Mar 13, 2010, 12:09 PM

Thumbs up SCT

Hi Sandy,
Thank you for your blog - you seem to be so brave!
Kind regards
Birgitta-a
71 yo, dx MDS Interm-1 May 2006, transfusion dependent, Desferal and Exjade for iron overload, 2 injections Neupogen/week for low WBCs
Old Sat Mar 13, 2010, 12:53 PM

Red face tack so mycket!

or something like that. I was an exchange student in Sollentuna for 1965-1966 and loved it. I still have family there and email her often. I had low WBC's ( 2.0) and platelets (35) and funny RBC's. They dropped even lower and we decided to have a BM transplant consult last Nov. Since my counts were dropping and chemo was barely maintaining me, and I was fortunate enough not to need RBC or platelet transfusions, we decided to proceed with the transplant. It took about 4 months to go through the process of finding a BM donor and preparatory blood and insurance work. All is going as expected. Most days are good, but I have a meltdowns as needed. Thanks for your comments.
Old Sat Mar 13, 2010, 04:16 PM

transplant

Hello Sandy,