Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Treatments > Drugs and Drug Treatments
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Drugs and Drug Treatments ATG, Cyclosporine, Revlimid, Vidaza, Dacogen, ...

Old Wed Dec 8, 2010, 07:57 PM

Question When to stop Vidaza?

Hello everybody, I'm a new member from Italy and I'm not an expert of medical stuff, so please apologize my grammar mistakes and medical inaccuracies.

My mother (70yrs) was diagnosed with AREB-2 (15-20% blasts) in March 2010, was given a 30% chance to survive over 2010, and began Vidaza in May 2010.

Throughout the treatment, she has been always low on Hgb (highest 10.5 after transfusion, lowest 7), low on platelets (40-60k), low on Wbc and Rbc (despite ongoing supportive treatment with Granocyte and Eprex). She has always been very weak, covered with bruises all around her body, prone to infections, and has suffered severe Vidaza’s side-effects on the site of injections (bruise, rush, swelling and much pain on her arms).

After the 4th cycle she had a BMB which showed a little improvement (blasts 15%), and after the 6th cycle a further BMB showed the same situation as after the 4th cycle.

Now doctors say they are going to run the last cycle (the 8th) in December (next Monday), and then stop Vidaza for a long while. They say they want to see how my mother “behaves” without Vidaza, just with supportive treatment (transfusions etc) when needed. If things go bad (i.e. acute leukaemia) they will treat it accordingly (other chemio?); if things remain stable for something like one year, they will re-consider another go with Vidaza.

After this long (I’m sorry) introduction, my questions are:
1) when can you say that Vidaza is “not working”? (my mother’s marrow is the same as before starting Vidaza, she’s still transfusion-dependant: is that enough to quit Vidaza like that?)