Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Bone Marrow Failure Diseases > MDS
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

MDS Myelodysplastic syndromes

Old Sat Nov 19, 2011, 05:00 PM

Transfusion Question .....

Hi Everyone....

So, my hemoglobin levels usually get down to 6.9 and my old school , 71 year old Dr. gives me ONE unit of blood . He says that it decreases the risks of transfusion ( including iron build-up ), and that red blood cells die off in 2 weeks anyway, so that the effect is the same ........ do you guys agree ? dis-agree ?? After I'm transfused I hover @ 8.0 .......
Old Sat Nov 19, 2011, 05:46 PM

Hi Annm,

I am relatively new to all this too, got diagnosed end of July. I am sure there are others on this site who know a lot more, but my experience is when I hit 8, and I usually am between 8.2-9, my dr. sends me for 2 units. I don't know how long the blood stays in your system, good question. But why go through the type and cross process again and expose yourself to the germs of the hospital, or center?

I have had 3 or 4 to date and have asked if I need to be concerned about my iron and ferritan levels, etc. and he scoffs, and says no need to worry at this point. I just read in an alert I got from MDS Beacon, that ferritan levels affect the outcome of BMT, which makes me curious.

donna j.
f68 MDS; abmt 1/12. ABO mismatch 11 mos. (70) transf. Ferr 3-5k. 8 phlebot. AGVHD to CGVHD. skin,eyes. lungs as of 10/13. muscle weakness &osteo long term steroids.photopheresis 2x wk as of 3-15.pred 20 eod,acyclovir, mepron, voriconazole, pantropazole, lisinopril, montelukast, anoro, azithromycin.
Old Sat Nov 19, 2011, 06:13 PM

I disagree with that logic. First of all, a 6.9 HGB is pretty low but if you function well on that, then that's ok. Most have a HGB threshold of 8 - 8.3. Once you hit that, you get transfused. What is your interval between red cell transfusions. Much depends on how much your bone marrow is producing.