Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Practical Issues > Questions and Answers
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Questions and Answers Not sure where to post a question? Post it here.

Old Thu Jun 27, 2013, 12:05 PM

Recently diagnosed with 'Hypoplastic MDS'

Hallo Everyone. I am so glad I found Marrowforums!

My name is Rita and next month I will be 57 years old. This is my first time to post, although I have been lingering here in the past, not knowing yet precisely what my diagnosis was.

Although I am a South African, we have been staying in the Netherlands for the past five years - and loving it!

Two weeks ago, after numerous blood tests and two bone marrow biopsies (since the beginning of February 2013), my diagnosis has been confirmed as 'Hypoplastic MDS'. Until now, I have been receiving supportive care - regular blood tests and doctor appointments, and transfusions whenever necessary.

My blood counts this past Tuesday were: hemoglobin 5.6 mmo1/L (range 7.5-10.0), thrombo's 6 x10e9/L (range 150-400), leuco's 2.3 x10e9/L (range 4-10), and neutro's 0.48 x10e9/L (range 1.50-7.50). I had a platelets transfusion again, the same day - and I will receive 3 units of red blood cells tomorrow. The haemotologist urged me to start with Immune Suppressive Therapy as soon as possible - in the form of 'Cyclosporine' tablets, together with 2 kinds of antibiotics as my white blood cells are so low.

I have read up on Cyclosporine before, and I am very scared of all the possible side effects. I have always been a believer in my body's own ability to heal itself, if given the correct internal and external environment if possible. Fortunately, up until last year, my health was fine. During last year, though, I fell ill with upper respiratory infections more often; became more and more tired; and bruised easily. I never thought all three problems could be related, and presented with only the infection, whenever I went to see my GP.