Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Practical Issues > Insurance, Finances, Disability, Veterans Benefits
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Insurance, Finances, Disability, Veterans Benefits Your finances, insurance, job issues, and veterans benefits

Old Sun Dec 4, 2016, 02:10 PM

what doe soc sec review mean?

Hi,
my husband diagnosed with AML got disability but on the letter it said there was a review in 6 months? Is that a hearing, or just looking at medical records etc?

If he has completed a bmt does he still have aml? If any of you have experience please share.

The clinical social worker seems to think it is no big deal but never explains.
Old Sun Dec 4, 2016, 02:14 PM

Is this for the VA? Have they assigned a disability rating?
Old Sun Dec 4, 2016, 08:52 PM

Social security

Hi,
no this is the basic social security disability. So ffar they have been very helpful but a review after 6 mo seems odd
Old Wed Dec 7, 2016, 09:42 AM

I worked in the field of Social Security disability insurance and SSI for over 4 years, up until a couple of years ago, and I got disability myself "as of age 55" until I qualified for old age benefits earlier this year.

A review after 6 months is fairly standard, especially if a bone marrow transplant is being contemplated. The Administration reviews the latest medical records and generally rubber-stamps them if there is no change. It sends out a short questionnaire (I've received those; it's on the nature of "do you still see Dr. So-and-So? If so, what is your current diagnosis?") and you just answer that and send it back. I never had my benefits terminated due to that or to a review.