Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Treatments > Drugs and Drug Treatments
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Drugs and Drug Treatments ATG, Cyclosporine, Revlimid, Vidaza, Dacogen, ...

Old Mon Jul 21, 2008, 07:45 AM

aranesp for mds

My husband was started on Aranesp 300mcg injections once a week for 6 weeks, with not response. He had to get 4 units of blood to bring his hgb up from 7.2 to 8.1. His hem MD is going to ^ dose to 400mcg for this next round of injections. If this doesn't help he will ^ it to 500mcg injections. Is anyone else out there getting this tx and is it helping? What are your side effects? Constipation seems to be his. Thanks.
Old Mon Jul 21, 2008, 11:09 AM

I am really new at all this and trying to navigate this disease, but my mothers new Hemotologist told her that you should see results by the 3rd injection. She had 6 of them. By the time we switched Hem/Onc her hemoglobin was down to 6.2 and her old dr. still wanted to continue the injections hoping for a response. New doctor put her on the tlk-199 clinical trial. I could be wrong about this, however this is our experience with aranesp.
Dacogen started 01/10 - no response
Bone Marrow Biopsy 10/10 - 13% blasts
Bone Marrow Biopsy 12/22/10 - 45% blasts - AML
I have an angel 1/4/11

Last edited by Suzanne : Mon Jul 21, 2008 at 11:14 AM. Reason: more information
Old Mon Jul 21, 2008, 02:57 PM

Aranesp response

Hi Edbol,
You know patients with serum EPO that is more than 500 often don´t have a good repsonse at Aranesp and similar drugs. Serum EPO is made by the kidneys that try to push the bone marrow to make more red blood cells.

You have to ask the doctor for your husbands serum EPO - the doctor should have taken that test initially because otherwise he/she won´t know if your husband should have Aranesp and similar drugs.

You can look at page 15 in this handbook for MDS: http://tinyurl.com/5pjvsu
Kind regards
Birgitta-A