Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Community > Tell Your Story
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Tell Your Story Say hello or share your experiences

Old Wed Feb 23, 2011, 01:08 PM

My life with AA

I started my life with AA in 1996. I was a college student. I remember going to classes and falling asleep, drooling on my notes. I would go back to my apartment and crash until evening when I'd get up and go out with friends. I thought that my sleeping was because I was going out too much. Then, as it got worse, I thought it was because I was out of shape. I started getting headaches all the time. That was because I needed my eyes checked again. Ya, maybe my prescription was wrong. Then, I started completely skipping class just to stay home to sleep. When the new year came around, I decided that was enough. I was going to whip my butt back into shape! I went to the gym and started to run the track. I passed out cold after 1/2 a lap. I went home and called my mom asking her to schedule me for an appointment with our family doctor. I told her that I must have low blood pressure.

I went to the dr. on my next trip to my hometown. I explained to him what was happening. He immediately sent me to get bloodwork. When the results came in, he told me to call my parents to come and get me. I was to immediately go home to bed and he would call them when we got home. When he called, he told them my blood results and insisted I go immediately to a St. Louis or Springfield ER. And, so it began. I was admitted, blood work done, bone marrow biopsy performed and diagnosis given. I had aplastic anemia. What? What in the world is that?