Home         Forums  

Go Back   Marrowforums > Bone Marrow Failure Diseases > MDS
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

MDS Myelodysplastic syndromes

Old Sun Feb 17, 2008, 09:27 AM

Back Once More

Hello,

I was a member of the old AA-MDS-Talk Listserv a number of years ago. I had to drop out for a while, due to many issues. Then, I couldn't find the list! I recently found this forum. Anyway, I did get much better. I have MDS and have been going along with life as a "normal" person, with my regular trips to Dana Farber, but, once again, this disease has reared its ugly head. My hgb & hct are dropping lower & lower (I have RA) and I've been undergoing weekly iron infusions, B12 shots, taking mega doses of folate, but things aren't turning around. Has anyone else been through this course of treatment? It's my first time, normally I've just had blood tx's but my hm doesn't want to keep that up. Would like to hear from anyone who's gone through this---and from any of my old and new friends out there as well!

Thanks,
Sally
dx 1999, MDS-RA. Narrowly escaped BMT in 2000, improved with Procrit, still fighting the battle.
Old Sun Feb 17, 2008, 04:12 PM

Sally,

I am glad you found us again. MDS is a roller coaster, isn't it? Are you low on iron, B12 and folate? I think it is pretty unusual to give iron to an MDS patient. Usually we are trying to get rid of too much of it. Have you tried Aranesp (even though it is almost the same as Procrit, apparently some folks respond to one better than the other at different times in the course of the disease), or Revlimid (I don't know what chromosome abnormalities you have).

Hang in there.

Zoe
Old Sun Feb 17, 2008, 09:26 PM
Administrator

Hi, Sally.

I remember you from the listserv days! You'll find several folks from the old group here as well as many new and extremely knowledgeable people.